• 8 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 years ago by morphis72
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 9 years ago

Hello All,

I am fairly new to fixing arcade games and pins so please forgive me if I am asking questions from an entry level point of view. Recently I decided it was time to upgrade my Star Trek which had a badly worn play field and half of the bulbs out on it. I swapped out the play field and replaced all of the bulbs with LEDs. The game played great after this execpt for the annoying flicker that comes with LED's in these older games. But, after ordering and install the lamp driver board from AllTec the flicker issue was resolved and life was good. Then it just quit working on me with only the tiny quick flicker on the LED at power up. So, I started looking over the MPU for issues. I thought that perhaps the connectors on the board had been tugged on too hard when I was swapping everything out so I re-soldered all for of them. For good (or in this case bad) measure I pulled all the EPROMs and re-seated them. When I did this (one of the sockets was installed backwards) I accidentally put the U2 chip in backwards. So,I borrowed a burner and found that the original chip was toast. I created a new U2 chip and installed properly this time. Then tested all the voltage points. I found one that was supposed to read 22 or maybe it was 24 was reading 0. checked my fuses and found one blown. Replaced the fuse and now my board boots! It goes through all 7 blinks and then goes off. After the seventh blink there is one blip of sound and the lights flicker for little but stay on. Then nothing... I put the old lamp driver board back in to test and got the same behavior. I double check the other fuses and found them to be good. The game will not enter diagnostics mode at all. The lamps all seem to work except the feature lamps vary on how man are on once it freeze up. The score lights don't come on. I am stumped here. Anyone go