(Topic ID: 190266)

SS Newbie - please help before I have a breakdown!

By 4Max

2 years ago

Topic Stats

• 20 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 2 years ago by 4Max
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

One image has been uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

IMG_4569 (resized).JPG

#1 2 years ago

I'm new to SS, only Em's to date, so please be gentle!

Looking at a World Cup Soccer for a friend. First thing I noticed is the ball lock release coil was not working - the metal rod was stuck inside as the tube had shrunk through no doubt over heating (wrapper was toast). So I have ordered a new coil, but I have read I should test the transistor that drives it; Q76.

I found these testing instructions from Clay, and all voltages read ok except the last one that reads 0.077. I just wanted to check that does indeed mean I have to replace the transistor?

TIP36c: Put the red lead of the DMM on the metal tab of the transistor. Put the black lead of the DMM on each of the two outside legs of the transistor one at a time. A reading of .4 to .6 volts should be seen. CORRECT

Put the black lead on the center transistor leg (collector) and the red lead on the metal tab, and a zero reading should be seen. CORRECT

Put the black lead of the DMM on the left/top (base) leg of the transistor. The red lead on the center transistor leg should
show .4 to .6 volts. CORRECT

The red lead on the right/bottom leg should be .2 volts. NO, READS 0.077

Any other value, and the transistor is bad and will need to be replaced. (I know Clay spells it out, but thought I would check as I dont really want to replace the transistor!)

thanks

#2 2 years ago

Regardless of any transistor testing - think about WHY the coil fried??

Yes, it was locked on by a shorted transistor more likely than not.