10 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

switchtestfrommanual.JPG
#1 10 years ago

I came across a Spy Hunter pin last week. It is in great condition considering it has been rarely used over the past couple of years. After fixing a broken connection to the speaker, it was ready to release to the kids. What a hit! After a couple of days, the bumper stopped working. After going over the playfield, I noticed a few other switches that stopped working. Here are the switches that are not working.

Bumper
"H" target (In SHOT)
"E" target (In AgentGK)
Left Oil Slick rollover-button

All of these worked normally and appeared to all fail at the same time. The lights for the targets are still lit.

I am new to this... and here's what I have done so far. I first checked the four switches for obvious problems, broken wire, etc. All look good. I then ran the self tests. During the self test, the bumper works.

The first time I ran the switch test, there was a stuck switch found. If was the rebound switch. The rubber was up against it. I was happy to find this and quickly adjusted the switch and rubber to fix the problem. After restarting, the problems remain. I ran the self tests again and the system reports no problems.

What other steps should I take? Are these four switches related somehow?

Thank you for any advise!

#2 10 years ago

Go here and download the schematics and manual.

#3 10 years ago

Print a copy of the switch matrix and go into switch test. Find switch #1 and test it. If it works highlight it and go to #2, #3 etc...

After the test is done you will have a map of the non working switches and you can start diagnosing from there.

Jason

#4 10 years ago

Thanks for the quick reply!!

When going through the tests, I see the test that just shows if any switches are stuck. Are you saying I can test each switch separately? I have downloaded the manual and schematics. I had the manual but not the schematics.