10 months ago

Topic Stats

• 19 posts
  • 14 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 10 months ago by grantopia
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 10 months ago

This post is not intended to complain about pinball prices or speculate which direction they will go. Pay to play, supply and demand, market sets pricing -- I get all that.

Instead what has fascinated me is the specific numbers/pricing that pinball machines will sell for.

I have a lot of exposure/experience in buying selling "stuff" over the years; mostly in the automotive and agricultural/construction equipment fields. More often than not in those areas negotiations occur between the seller and buyer and an item is sold for a price somewhere between what the seller is asking and what the buyer initially offers. The end number can often vary by hundreds, sometimes thousands of dollars from asking price. There always seems to be some wiggle room.

I imagine the same negotiations occur in the pinball world, but what has impressed me is how small the window of negotiation can be. I've had a couple situations where $50 meant the difference between coming home with a machine vs. nothing. This is not a complaint on my end, more of an observation of sorts and I will admit it has taken some time to get accustomed to. One really has to know the value of not only a pinball machine but also the value that a specific theme, manufacturer, etc. brings to that machine. I suppose it gets more confusing as some games have a value of hundreds of dollars while others have values of thousands of dollars.

At the end of the day its not a big deal, just a point of curiosity for me. A pinball machine is not a car, tractor, or other large piece of equipment so proportionally I can understand there is a difference. I'm probably overthinking it, but anyone else have similar observations?

#2 10 months ago