67%
  • No 1 vote
    33%

(3 votes by 0 Pinsiders)

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

2013-12-31_16-04-00_67-469.jpg
#1 9 years ago

I am new to this forum. Just found it actually.

I am a long time designer of speaker systems and I have three different pinball machines.

I did a forum search on the speaker upgrades people have done. Basically car speaker stuff.

I have the ability to model using LEAP (Loudspeaker Enclosure Analysis Program) been doing it for over 20 years. Would there be value in me modeling a sealed enclosure design for the bass and an IB (infinite baffle) design for the high frequency pieces of the pinball machines?

I would of course share my findings with the forum since I have a wide and narrow body Williams/Bally machines and also a Sega machine.

Below is an example of a Home theater speaker system 4-way active crossover design. Top stack has a 8 inch mid-bass, 6 inch mid-range horn tweeter. Bottom box 18 inch subwoofer.

2013-12-31_16-04-00_67-469.jpg2013-12-31_16-04-00_67-469.jpg
#2 9 years ago

I would right size the options and provide a couple of budget point suggestions.

#3 9 years ago

With most of these pinball machines you can easily go overboard with speakers, amps, subs, etc. The problem is the source. Many of these pins are mono, 8bit, low quality sources. There are some companies such as flipper fidelity that already make upgraded speakers for pins. Don't know of anyone using car speakers/amps, but why not? Good luck...

#4 9 years ago

Okay I was just going to do the modeling on my three machines because of the three different volumes and then have suggestions people could buy from someone else. I was merely providing information.

I will post results here . Agreed mono and low power are two issues but a very efficient design is my only goal here.

#5 9 years ago

Note that the pinball cabinet itself is the sealed enclosure for the sub located in the bottom.

#6 9 years ago