Topic Stats

• 164 posts
  • 69 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by Outsidedge
  • Topic is favorited by 73 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 20 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

IMG_1943 (resized).JPG
IMG_1941 (resized).JPG
IMG_1899 (resized).JPG
IMG_1898 (resized).JPG
IMG_1897 (resized).JPG
IMG_1896 (resized).JPG
untitled (resized).png
finish2 (resized).jpg
finish1 (resized).jpg
shot1 (resized).jpg
popspoons (resized).jpg
shot2 (resized).jpg
pc (resized).jpg
rot (resized).jpg
birthday (resized).jpg
IMG_8697 (resized).JPG

There are 164 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 4.
#1 1 year ago

Hi everyone,

I thought I would share a bit about my current Space Shuttle pin that I purchased earlier this year. The machine was in a good state, outside of some lamp row/columns issues and a blown transistor. Since I am new to pinball in general, performing my own maintenance has been an educational experience. My background is in IT/electronics and I was able to grasp most electronic and mechanic processes quickly. However I am not an art person, nor am I that proficient in woodworking.

When I purchased my Space Shuttle, I had noticed that it had a giant overlay already installed. Never seeing one of these before, I thought "Great, that will save me some time on doing something like that myself." However, after months of playing the pin, I noticed two things:

1. The ball travel across inserts was not level and cause the ball to take "weird" bounces.
2. Part of the overlay in the U-S-A rollover lanes was delaminating from itself and rippling.

First, I looked into reproduction playfields, but they're either sold out, not available, or folks like $1,000 for one (which literally is close to the price of the entire pin)!

Day One: