6 years ago

Topic Stats

• 34 posts
  • 13 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by terryb
  • Topic is favorited by 12 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 6 years ago

Hi and TY in advance to all of you who I know will give me awesome advice in this thread.

I am new to the world of pinball, but want to fix my own machines myself. I am ready to buy some things on Amazon now. As for a soldering gun, I have a Weller WLC 100 40 watt solder station in the cart. Is that a nice one? Seems it from all the review I read and especially for electronic board needs.

Also, what kind/types of solder and flux do I need and should I use? Tin, silver solder, lead based solder? I like the liquid flux I saw. Is that good stuff? What brands do I want to buy? Soldering gun tip sizes? How about a good solder sucker? Anything else?

Again, thank you all for your help and expertise in this area. It's much appreciated.

#2 6 years ago

Lead based solder is the way to go, but I think it is getting harder to find.

If you can afford it, the Hakko 808 is absolutely phenomenal for a desoldering tool. Other than that, I used to use a cheap radio-shack desolderer that had the rubber red suction ball on it.

I don't know much about your soldering station, but it looks fine to me. Are you planning on doing a lot of boardwork?

(I use a Tenma soldering station that I love so much I'd make out with it....if it weren't for the horrible lip burns).

Pete

#3 6 years ago

Go to the search forum box at the top right of the Forum page and type in "group buy". The first three returns are for solder guns from Hakko with great descriptions and pics. Choose one or two and enjoy.

#4 6 years ago