8 years ago

Topic Stats

• 13 posts
  • 11 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by RunninMan01
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 8 years ago

I am a newbie and have never soldered before and am looking for a little help from the experts. I discovered a cracked solder joint that has come apart and now want to resolder the wires to the lug (which is under the playfield and connects to the extra ball target). My question is what is the best way to do this, I have read some tutorials and understand the basics of soldering, which doesn't seem too complex. In order to do this work under the playfield, I can only assume that I would turn the machine off and lift the playfield up vertically. Please let me know if this is the best way, I don't want to burn myself or let solder drip on any components below. Any advice is appreciated. Thx in advance.

#2 8 years ago

you want to protect anything that is below,
    sometimes you can use a wide piece of masking tape to make a concave shelf directly under the coil. also newspaper or cardboard to cover the older EMs relay board - if you ever work on them.

#3 8 years ago

Thx Much

#4 8 years ago

I use a small towel below whatever I am working on

#5 8 years ago

Lift the PF so that you can get to it easily. Put something in the cabinet, and if necessary, under the PF to catch or deflect loose solder bits. Warm up Soldering Iron completely. Try not to touch other wires, remove other parts if too crowded. Press the wire against the lug with the SIDE of the iron's tip. Not like a pen. Add the solder to the wire and lug. Remove the solder. Slowly remove the iron. I lift up the iron so the very tip is still pressing against the wire. This allows the solder to cool while still applying pressure to the wire so it won't come off the lug while the solder is still molten.

#6 8 years ago