New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 120543)

Soldering equipment

By Clem

5 years ago

Topic Stats

• 48 posts
  • 26 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by G-P-E
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

There have been 15 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

pv1.jpg
    pv2.jpg
    PanaVise 324.jpg
    81KFtqdaN7L._SL1500_.jpg
    pace mbt100e.jpg
    weller.jpg
    pace mbt 201.jpg
    pace prc2000.jpg
    werkbank jbc.jpg
    Capture1.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    Metcal.JPG
    image.jpg
    20150306_203405.jpg
    image.jpg

#1 5 years ago

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this, but any experience with these inexpensive tools?
    I am a rookie at electronic work, haven't done any wire soldering since my motorcycle days 30 years ago. I'd like to start practicing on some junk boards and maybe do a restoration on an older ss pin.
    These soldering stations are under $100 on ebay.

image.jpg
    #2 5 years ago

I just bought a sweet 30 watt setup at the local radio shack closeout for $5.

20150306_203405.jpg
    #3 5 years ago

I would say buy a Hakko, they are close to $100.

#4 5 years ago

The Tenma 2 in 1 looks like about $175 and the Hakko is like $4-500.

#5 5 years ago

I have this and absolutely love it. Portable, stable on the bench, great temp control, heats up to 750 in seconds. I really have no complaints. About $100 give or take and you'll have it forever. The rework stations are nice, but if you're not doing a ton of work, they're kinda overkill. Plus, you will have a hard time stuffing it in the cab for work under the playfield. image.jpg

#6 5 years ago

jwo, what do you use to desolder?

#7 5 years ago