Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 77 posts
  • 19 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by skink91
  • Topic is favorited by 8 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic poll

“Software development hangout”

• I do software work. 19 votes
      63%
    • I don’t work on software (but this is interesting) 7 votes
      23%
    • Nerds! (I’m out of here... losers) 4 votes
      13%

(30 votes)

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider adol75.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#28 3 years ago

I'm a software architect and project manager. I recently joined a telehealth company who had a bunch of coders that I replaced with engineers.

To me the main difference between a coder and an engineer is how engineers think of software a whole where coders execute the tasks they are assigned without necessarily seeing the big picture.

The most visible aspect in a distributed architecture was the redundancy of the code case, the lack of common APIs although they were serving the same endpoints and an overall lack of care for performance.

I would love to start coding on the P3 platform, unfortunately I'm a terrible handyman so I don't plan on building from scratch, but I would surely like to find a plug and play hardware for a start.

#34 3 years ago
    Quoted from skink91:

This distinction is spot on. The part I might disagree with (perhaps, not sure if you are saying this or not) is saying coder/engineer as if coder is something that means something different than ‘bad developer’ or perhaps more kindly just ‘junior developer’.
    To me, no developer should not be on a path to team lead / architect... if they aren’t they should be looking at other non-dev roles.

I think coder is a different job that fits some organizations, typically the ones that have more layers between the functional specifications and the end product.