Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 120 posts
  • 50 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 2 years ago by denoument
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

5E7FD14C-5CD0-4F62-BADC-81AD9A5329F1 (resized).jpeg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider KozMckPinball.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#17 2 years ago

I would assume that the software developers could be located elsewhere, factory workers could not be, just like other industries. The fact that everyone is located in Chicago is kind of cool, if you ask me. This industry makes rock stars out of designers and developers and artists, that is the coolest part I think, as a career long engineer myself, seeing that a computer scientist or mechanical/electrical engineer or artist can be thought of that way. I think it would be cool for a podcaster to interview some of the factory talent as well.

#27 2 years ago
    Quoted from gdonovan:

Property and vehicle taxes in CT cost me over 5k per year.

Try property taxes of $12k here in Massachusetts. Not complaining but for a few years there we were paying $1000 a month in property taxes and $750 a WEEK in daycare on top of all the other taxes. Think about that. Kids (2) were too young at that time to be in public school, so our property taxes were not returning anything really to us AND paying daycare on top of that. $9000 for a pin seems like an easy stretch in comparison to me.

#35 2 years ago
    Quoted from floyd1977:

Even so, if someone is paying the highest tax rates, property taxes are going to be a relatively small percentage of their income compared to everything else.
    My property taxes in Illinois were $12k, but that's not the reason I'm building a house in Indiana (still commuting to Chicago). My daughter is starting at Purdue this fall, and the difference between in-state and out of state tuition is huge.