(Topic ID: 186546)

SMVE - Playfield Swap Question

By phlach

7 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 7 years ago

Due to the insert ghosting/clearcoat issue on my new SMVE, Stern sent me a box to send them back my populated playfield. When they receive it, they will send me the replacement.

This is probably a question for them, but since they are closed and I wanted to get this pulled this weekend, I'm hoping someone here may know.

I'm fairly new to pins. I was expecting there to be molex connectors somewhere in the cabinet for the wiring bundles that come from the playfield, so I could just disconnect and pull the playfield in a matter of minutes. It appears, however, that most of the wiring goes straight from the playfield, and up into the backbox, then off in a million directions to the various PCBs, with no molex connectors in between. It seems my only option is to disconnect all the zip ties so I can disconnect them from the PCBs in the backbox. Does that sound right?

#2 7 years ago

Yes you need to remove the connectors carefully from the PCB's. I am not sure you need to cut any zip ties but you will know once inside. If you don't need to cut a tie then don't.

#3 7 years ago

Make sure you label all the connectors and write what you labeled down on a piece of paper so you know exactly what you disconnected, where it goes and you put them ALL back on. A little extra time disconnecting can potentially save you a lot of time when putting it back together.

#4 7 years ago

You can't label the plugs because you won't be getting the same stuff back. I think stern is just sending people all new populated PFs and not swapping Their used stuff over to a new one. All I can think of is to take a pic of the board with all the plugs still plugged in and take a pick of each plug as you pull it off right near where it came at off the board and maybe label it first. I never did a swap on a Stern.

#5 7 years ago