(Topic ID: 208447)

Silicone on all the solders?

By Texastravis

6 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

15170733133061655215722 (resized).jpg
    #1 6 years ago

I am still a bit new at this... most of the solder connections on my JP machine are gooped with some kind of silicone. Is this a good practice to do with your solder joints? What does it accomplish besides preventing dirt on the solder?

I have a bad switch on the ball trough. Before I ordered a new one, I wanted to reflow the solder to make sure it was getting a good connection. I will have to remove the silicone though first.

15170733133061655215722 (resized).jpg15170733133061655215722 (resized).jpg

#2 6 years ago

That looks like dielectric grease. It gets used on cars and atvs to repel water from electrical connections.

#3 6 years ago

That's clear silicone. Dirt from a pinball machine won't hurt solder. Silicone can be used to prevent accidental shorts or wire breakage. Maybe previous owner had problems with wires breaking off switches? Sure makes replacement of the switch "fun".

#4 6 years ago
    Quoted from Texastravis:

Is this a good practice to do with your solder joints?.

No.

#5 6 years ago

I second TheLaw's answer! If you solder them correctly you should have no issue.

#6 6 years ago

It looks like a scene from The Blob. Couldn't find humans so it attacked your pin.

#7 6 years ago

It would be fun trying to resolder those if they ever come loose.

#8 6 years ago

Definately silicone and not grease.

Thanks for the tips. Sounds like this was a bad idea and while I am trying to remove it agree that it is a bad idea!

You won't believe how much silicone is under this playfield...

#9 6 years ago