(Topic ID: 302732)

Shipping to Canada - Try Shippsy (located in Ontario/BC)

By pinballjah

2 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 16 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 80 days ago by Gunner007
  • Topic is favorited by 8 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

image (resized).jpg
    pasted_image (resized).png
    #1 2 years ago

With the border closed and it being impractical to use a US border mailbox these days, wanted to let people know about a service I have been using for the last six months. The main benefit I find of using this service is avoiding the high duty fees that you cannot control when shipping items from the US to Canada. There have been many horror stories about people getting charged duty equal to cost of the item being shipped. This is in addition to the extremely high fees US pinball part manufacturers charge to ship items to Canada.

Here is a great example, I want to buy some Pinsound speakers for my GnR from a US manufacturer. The cost to ship the speakers to Ontario would cost me $73.45US! Almost equal the cost of the actual item. If I ship the speakers to my US Shippsy mailbox, the cost is $18.19US plus I pay $7.00CDN to ship the item to Markham, Ontario. So with using Shippsy, I am saving approximately $50US. Also, the best part about using Shippsy is I avoid the possible duty charges as I will provide Shippsy a copy of my invoice which shows the item is under $150CDN, so I will NOT be charged any duty.

Shippsy is a US shipping service that provides you with a free US address (located in Niagara Falls, NY) to ship all your US orders. That way you just pay US to US shipping costs. They then charge you $7.00 CDN + provincial tax (13% in Ontario) to ship your item to their local shipping pickup locations. Shippsy currently has four pickup locations:

Ontario - Markham, Mississauga, London
    British Columbia - Vancouver (Richmond)