(Topic ID: 234064)

Shipmates 1964 Gotlieb - does this flipper coil need replaced?

By oddprime

5 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 15 posts
  • 8 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by oddprime
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Coil2 (resized).jpg
Coil1 (resized).jpg
#1 5 years ago

I am a complete novice. This is my first pinball machine. The machine spent its first 10 years at an amusement park, before being purchased from the person I got it from.

With some minor fixing I've got most everything working. I purchased it knowing the right flipper wasn't working.
The flipper wasn't working mainly due to the missing flipper plunger. I ordered a mini rebuild kit from pinwizard.
Tonight after the kit arrived I went to put the plunger into the coil, it wouldn't go. There seems to be two protrusions into the middle of the coil.

Does this coil need replaced? or is there a sleeve inside that is just bad and needs replaced?
according to my schematic this is an A-5141

Coil1 (resized).jpgCoil1 (resized).jpgCoil2 (resized).jpgCoil2 (resized).jpg
#2 5 years ago

That is an overheated sleeve and it looks like in the second pic I can see the coil winding has burnt a small hole through it.
If it were me, I would toss the coil all together and replace it with a new.
-Mike

#3 5 years ago

It's possible the coil is toast. It looks like the coil locked on from a switch getting stuck closed, over-heated and melted the sleeve. You could possibly carefully drill out the sleeve. A new sleeve would probably go back in, but if the wiring varnish insulation inside the coil is compromised, you'll need a new coil.

If you can find the resistance of that coil on a chart somewhere (or if your game has another A-5141) you could compare resistance readings. You'd have to unsolder the wires.

Honestly, for the $10 or whatever the coil costs, probably best to replace.

#4 5 years ago