Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20180402_181846 (resized).jpg
20180402_181740 (resized).jpg
20180402_180545 (resized).jpg
20180402_180518 (resized).jpg

#1 5 years ago

So... I'm a total noob at pinball repair and I'm trying to learn and get better so please bare with me. I'm trying to troubleshoot/fix a problem with my machine; Yesterday, when I was playing my street fighter 2 pinball machine the bottom left upkicker stopped working and then shortly after that started smoking. I turned off my machine and felt the coil and metal area of the upkicker and it was extremely hot / burning to the touch. I ordered a new coil that I plan on replacing when it comes in. However, I'm not sure if there is another problem that may have caused the coil to fail. Some quick searching pointed me towards bad transistors sometimes causing this type of problem (maybe)?

In case I didn't already mention it - I'm a total noob at this . If it is a transistor problem is there an easy way to figure out which transistor I need to check or can anyone possible help me make sense of how I would figure this out on my own with the manual schematics? I've done a decent amount of solder work in the past and I have a multimeter and capacitance meter but I haven't ever tested or replaced a transistor in the past so very basic info on this would be extremely helpful.

Thanks!

Hvy

#2 5 years ago

The coils on System 3's are all fused individually, so it's actually really hard to cause one to smoke unless the incorrect fuse was being used. So check the schematics to figure out which fuse goes with the burnt coil and replace it before you replace the coil.