You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

image (resized).jpg
image (resized).jpg
16 (resized).jpg
#1 2 years ago

I'm new to the owning/maintenance side of pins, so I need some much appreciated help. Just bought a Sega Goldeneye and found out that all things running +20v doesn't work, which is all low-power coils and flashers from what I can tell.

- LED for +20v is not lit.
- Tested fuses (F7 seems to be the one for 20v), all OK.
- Tested the bridge rectifier (BRDG 2), seems OK.

Any ideas for a newbie? Thanks!

#2 2 years ago

When your coin door is closed, does the fuse blow, or 20vdc led come on ?

Bridge rectifier could be faulty.

#3 2 years ago

Got 16vac across pins 6 and 7 on J17 ?

16 (resized).jpg16 (resized).jpg

#4 2 years ago

Thanks for your answers!

@chad: When the coin door is closed the 20vdc led does not come on. Also no fuses are blown.

@zaza: 16vac not 20? I will check this later today though!

#5 2 years ago

Update: OK so I found where the problem was. I had a closer look at the F7 fuse holder and could see that the surface of the inside was dirty and somewhat burnt. So I took some sandpaper and scrubbed it off. Now my +20v works! Sometimes the simple solutions…

But.. now there’s instead an issue with my +50v. F21 blows at startup everytime. I’m thinking that the rectifier bridge BRDG1 needs to be replaced. Can I simply solder a new one in place? I bought a replacement ”GBPC3508”. Should be OK?

#6 2 years ago
Quoted from DrGonzo:

F21 blows at startup everytime. I’m thinking that the rectifier bridge BRDG1 needs to be replaced.

When BRDG1 is bad, fuse F6 would blow, not F21.
In the manual page 24, you will find a chart which coils are connected to J10-4/5 ( actually coils #1-#16)

#7 2 years ago

So the problem lies in one of those coils then I guess. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction! Am I looking for a faulty coil, bad connection or something like that?

#8 2 years ago