1 year ago

Topic Stats

• 12 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by slochar
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

There have been 4 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

JL under PF (resized).jpg
    JL PCBs (resized).jpg
    JL coin door (resized).jpg
    JL MPU (resized).jpg

#1 1 year ago

I've got 8 years of EM repair and restoration under my belt, but I've decided it's time to try solid state. But, I'm lost at sea on this technology. I'm looking seriously at a Williams JL ('81) with a system 7 that looks terribly intimidating. I can visually assess the machine mechanics, PF and graphics okay, but I would really appreciate a veteran system 7 guru to give a look-see at the 4 internal pics I've managed to get from the seller. It looks very clean overall, and I don't see corrosion from a cursory look, but I have no base of knowledge and could use any help I can get before I take this plunge. BG looks perfect, all game functions, displays and sound work fine, and owner says no battery damage. So it's not a project machine. I'm trying to learn everything I can before I invest in the road trip.

JL MPU (resized).jpgJL PCBs (resized).jpgJL coin door (resized).jpgJL under PF (resized).jpg
    #2 1 year ago

As long as it boots and plays, you are in pretty good shape.

As a first SS, a system 7 is a pretty good place to start. All of the sub-systems (GI, switch matrix, coil drivers, and light matrix) concepts pretty much carry across all Williams machines up through System 11.

#3 1 year ago

As system 7's go, that one looks pretty clean an unmolested. If it already plays and runs good, you're well ahead of the curve. Other than the battery holder, which is a good thing, doesn't look like anything was changed or modified. Very original looking.

-Hans

#4 1 year ago