Topic Stats

• 24 posts
  • 20 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 8 years ago by nosro
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 8 years ago

I have been playing pinball for a while so I enjoy the hobby. I recently purchased GoT and I absolutely love the depth of the game. Unfortunately, I don't think this game lends itself well for me trying to get someone interested in playing. There is a complex set of rules that makes it fun for most of us but too involved for most people that just want to hit a few ramps and get a multiball.

I have always wanted to own Spider-Man which was the first machine I played that really made me consider buying one. GoT was my first pin purchase and I am an amateur when it comes to evaluating used machines. With that said I would like to stick to new machines. That is my background for the following question:

Would Spider-Man VE be a good purchase for accomplishing my goal of getting my friends more involved in pinball? I know it is somewhat overpriced but I don't foresee a near mint black Spider-Man coming for sale at that price point. I know this machine is a hot button topic so I'm looking for some qualified opinions. I wouldn't want to lose too much money when I sold it so I'm a bit worry about that. Thank you

#2 8 years ago
Quoted from Beyndtstng:

Would Spider-Man VE be a good purchase for accomplishing my goal of getting my friends more involved in pinball?

Getting new people into pinball is super hard to do.

I'll have work parties and even though I have 45 restored pins, most people play a game or two and then walk away to play Galaga or Stargate.

Everyone ends up in the kitchen far from the noise of the games.

I always take a simple 70s game, close out the outlanes, set it to 5 ball and set the replay super low (so kids can hear the knocker).

This is your best bet to get a non-pinhead interested, but don't count on it.

#3 8 years ago
Quoted from vid1900: