Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20200729_223948 (resized).jpg
20200729_223943 (resized).jpg
20200729_223953 (resized).jpg
20200729_224002 (resized).jpg
#1 3 years ago

Hello, im very new to pinballs and I have a Sample Earthshaker #49 that I am trying to finish a restore job. I was wondering if the cabinet is painted. I know the later models they used decals. The reason I ask is because in the lettering earthshaker on the side it looks printed and on the top box it looks painted. Am I seeing something wrong? I want to fix by touching up issues and not resanding and repainting everything. Thanks for any info.

20200729_223943 (resized).jpg20200729_223943 (resized).jpg20200729_224002 (resized).jpg20200729_224002 (resized).jpg20200729_223948 (resized).jpg20200729_223948 (resized).jpg20200729_223953 (resized).jpg20200729_223953 (resized).jpg
#2 3 years ago

Pictures might be helpful.

#3 3 years ago

Thank you, I added pictures

#4 3 years ago

It's screen printed (with paint). The technique used in the letters to give the appearance of gradient colors is called halftone dithering.

If a system 11 or WPC game has decals (from a printer), then it was probably restored by someone (but your game has the original screen printed artwork, not decals).

It wasn't until the early 2000's where cabinet decals started being used on standard pinball machines. Baby Pac-Man games and Pin2000 game swap kits used decals, but those were special cases. There may be other examples, but those are just two off the top of my head

#5 3 years ago

Thank you, sounds like the only way to restore then is to paint over the dithering.

#6 3 years ago

I wouldn't recommend it. It would be impossible to reproduce the effect by hand.

https://www.marcospecialties.com/pinball-parts/SA-568

Cabinet decals are available.

#7 3 years ago

HEP is repainting one in his thread, check it out!

#8 3 years ago