Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 28 posts
  • 22 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 months ago by ReadyPO
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Unknown (resized).jpeg

#1 11 months ago

Hear me out.

I buy a used car for $10,000. Before I pay for it, I take it to my mechanic and have them do an independent inspection.

I buy a Pinball machine for $10,000. Before I pay for it, I play it and give it a look over, but I'm not an expert.

Therefore, when buying an expensive Pinball machine, you should bring your own independent inspector to sign off on your purchase.

This idea is copyrighted © - Chet Hardbody LTD.

#2 11 months ago

This is certaintly not a bad idea. Unfortunately there are precious few folks out there that have the skills and marketing savvy to make this a reality. Just trying to find a qualified tech to work on a machine in ones home without having to haul it out is a major challenge. With the advent of this avocation for the folks who have a few bucks in their pockets it would be a great opportunity for a number of folks to start offering in home pinball repair. Charge as needed to make a reasonable profit.

#3 11 months ago
    Quoted from Chet_Hardbody:

Therefore, when buying an expensive Pinball machine, you should bring your own independent inspector to sign off on your purchase.

Really? What could he tell me that I couldn't see by looking it over myself? You are saying "you should", so please be more specific why I should.

I buy a used car for $10,000. Before I pay for it, I take it to my mechanic and have them do an independent inspection.

Good choice for somebody that doesn't know squat about cars, but again, myself being a qualified mechanic see no purpose in wasting any more money on anything like that.

#4 11 months ago

So how much are you willing to pay an 'independent inspector' for their time?

#5 11 months ago