SM Right Flipper Stuck EOS.jpg
SDC10570 (Small).JPG
flipperkit.jpg
flipper stuck copy.png
flipper gap.jpg
flipper.jpg
flipper stuck.jpg
#1 10 years ago

I have had my Stern AC\DC Pro for about a month now, and over the last week and a half or so I have noticed the right flipper beginning to stick in the up position. Up until last night it was more of a nuisance than anything--it would get stuck for a split-second, then with a tap of the flipper button it would drop. No big deal, it didn't hurt my game much at all. However, last night, it began sticking up permanently. No amount of button pressing or smacking or shaking the cabinet would fix it.

I am still a bit of a newbie when it comes to working on machines, so I am looking for advice on this issue (from others I hear it's common). In the last ten months since I purchased my first machine, I have only had to solder a wire back on a target, that's about it, so technically this is the first truly mechanical issue I've had to deal with, per-se. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Here is what I've figured out so far:

- Going into the test menu and performing a coil test on the right flipper, it stays up after activating the coil (whereas the left flipper that is working fine falls back down after doing the coil test)
- When I go underneath the playfield and manually push the flipper mechanism with my hand, it retracts as it is supposed to (i.e., the flipper drops)
- When I trigger it with the flipper button, it often times sticks, but not 100% of the time.
- I thought maybe the right flipper leaf switch was a problem (it may be and I just haven't figured it out yet), but it looks nearly identical to the left one. I played with the contacts on it and bent them out a bit (they seemed to be slightly closer together than what I saw on the left flipper leaf switch), but that didn't really do much.