• 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by paynemic
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_0515 (resized).JPG

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider paynemic.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 7 years ago

$10 PayPal for the first person who can point me right to the problem(s) to get this fixed.

Ok. So I'm a noob. I broke the number one commandment and did leds with power on in my friends data east Star Wars. I suck. I should have known. Now I have all kinds of lamp matrix problems. Single lamp tests often light up two and three lamps. There is a decided pattern. I tested the board, its fine. I'm guessing shorts and or diodes out. I will do some wire tracing, but I'm wondering if anyone can identify the problem from my single lamp test results:

I will attach my notes scribbled on the lamp matrix in the manual (I labeled with letters the lamp tested and a the same letter starred or primed ' on the lamp that also lit incorrectly) but I will try to make sense of the pattern to the problems.

Basically, row 7 seems to mostly work normally. But anything above it in the early columns (1-3) lights itself, the lamp in the same row in column 6 and in the same column but 7th row. For example, lamp 2 also lights lamp 7 and lamp 42. Or lamp 11 also lights 15 and 43.

Column 6 has similar bahavior. Anything in c7 or 8 mirrors over to same row, in c6.

There are some other patterns, but hopefully this will be enough to get me something to fix to reduce the chaos for further testing.

#2 7 years ago

IMG_0515 (resized).JPGIMG_0515 (resized).JPG

#4 7 years ago
Quoted from lyonsden:

Sounds like a diode. Have a multimeter to test them?

Yes. On the lamp matrix, do I have to desolder? And are there any logical places to start?

#8 7 years ago

Oh crap. I have no idea. It was from a grab bag sampler I think I got from pinballlife. Can that really happen?!!

2 months later