(Topic ID: 73043)

Restoring a TFTC CPU/MPU massive problems

By Danje

10 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 10 years ago

Hello all! I'm pretty new to pinballs and new to this board. My name's Danje, 37, from Germany...

It's always been a childhood dream to have my own pin(s) and I finally bought one. I was looking for a machine that I could restore over winter time, so I wasn't looking for something in working condition, but rather a pin that needed a little TLC. Long story short, I got myself a TFTC which I had only seen on pictures, knowing that it would come with some alkaline corrosion across the MPU... and boy did it come with some corrosion

I had to replace pretty much everything in the corrosion zone, from RAM to ROM, PIAs to caps and resistors, had to restore traces and put bridges, where traces could no be saved.

I'm at the stage now where the pin plays just fine - all the lights, switches, coils etc. seem to be ok. However, I'm dealing with massive display and sound problems and I've been stuck with them for about 10 days now.

Here's a breakdown, I'll try to be as detailed as I can:

-Turning the pin on, the MPU boots ok and the pin outputs the greeting message. Instead of "No pay'm, no game" it just says "No..." however, with the blanking kicking in and interrupting the sound. I heard from some members on a German from that this could be ignored and some of their machines do just the same. So maybe no worries here.

-As of last night, I had some signs of life on the DMD. Nothing could really be read, but it definitely showed some animations on the right side (only). Very dim though. I did of course check voltages, ribbon cables etc. and the display
as well as the controller seem fine. Wiggling on the +5V power line sometimes gives me nice, bright horizontal lines.

-Booking credits the sound plays just fine. "Put in another quarter", "Tales from the crypt", etc.