button.jpg
toto_collarred.jpg
WOZ_Start_Button_Guard_Decaled.png
20150715_174314.jpg
436899.jpg
1-Fullscreen_capture_852015_90749_AM.jpg
oz.jpg
oz1.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider dcfan.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#26 8 years ago

I am interested if it looks good.
I would also be happy with simply changing the black button housing part to be extended further beyond the button so that the button is recessed.

2 weeks later
#31 8 years ago
Quoted from herg:

BUMP
If there's not enough interest for something decorative (and likely more expensive), what about something really simple?
I'm just starting to learn to use SketchUp, so this is a very crude drawing.
1-Fullscreen capture 852015 90749 AM.jpg
I have no idea how much it would cost to have something like this made through Shapeways, but I'm guessing that would give nicer results than a 3D printer. Someone here knows.

My hopefully constructive criticism, I think it would look better if the outer flange was smaller (around 1 to 2 centimeters). The edge could be perpendicular to the cabinet rather than sloped. It would then look like a casing for the button rather an add-on protector.

Here is a crude example. The portion beyond the white would be removed.
436899.jpg436899.jpg

#33 8 years ago
Quoted from herg:

That would probably work well for the direct printed cabinets, but with decals, they have a cutout slightly larger than the diameter of the original button. If using a normal sized start button, there needs to be something to cover the black wood of the cabinet on decal machines.

Do you have a picture of the standard with decal? Maybe two different versions could be made, especially if it is just using a 3D printer.

#35 8 years ago