Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 158 posts
  • 57 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 years ago by Chrisbee
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Cuckoo_clock_2.gif
    ass.gif
    surprise.gif
    burn_them.jpg
    image-156.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider chadderack.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#39 9 years ago
    Quoted from vid1900:

It's not like anyone is going to die if a few spammers and a few friendless misfits make some unwanted posts.
    Robin can just give the mods a bigger hammer and sooner or later the misfits will run out of steam.

I was an admin on a fairly large vBulletin site (500K registered users; 50K active) once upon a time. "Steam" from these "misfits" might be underestimated.

Spammers are endless; people write spambot programs that will sign up to a bulletin board and wait before posting. The same spambot might sign in to the same spamming account over a months time and finally drop its load.

What worked best was to allow all posting; but to only make new users visible to moderators as well as their threads and posts. If a moderator determined that the post / thread was legit, they would remove it from a queue and verify the user. It didn't stop the idiot contingent from posting; but it prevented them getting what they wanted, which was eyeballs on their links or their shenanigans.

A "new user" would automatically be moved into the "visible users" group 1 month after their first post, or after their 10th post. It makes sense that the moderating staff would be able to weed out the riff-raff in that time.

Usually, surprisingly, the spambots could be traced to either a single ip or an IP range. We would check to make sure no legitimate users were on that IP range before banning the range.