Topic Stats

• 10 posts
  • 8 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 2 years ago by ryanwanger
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 2 years ago

I am new to pins and my Addams family needs a little TLC. It’s going to need new rubbers and in looking at the playfield seems there are a lot of tricky spots, almost to the point were I will have to remove entire ramps.

My question is - what is the best way to go about this? Specifically when there is switch wiring attached to the ramp that needs to move to get the rubber installed.

Do I just go slowly lifting pieces one at a time taking extreme care at the solder points of the switch? Or is there another approach I am missing? My fear is moving these ramps (specifically the metal rail return ramp) without messing with the switch connectivity.

Any advice is appreciated.

#2 2 years ago

First. Take a billion pictures. Then after that take a billion more. All angles and after each piece that you remove.

A lot of times when there are ramps with switches and wires connected to them, there is a connector underneath the playfield that you can disconnect to allow you to take the ramp off without using a soldering iron.

Follow the colors of the wires back until you find the connector.

After this, take more pictures. Haha.

I like to use ziplock bags for parts too. Put sections of the game into bags or boxes so you know where the stuff goes generally, then use the pictures you took to fill in the cracks.

Then after all this, learn to use a soldering iron. It’s nice to know that as well when doing something like this.

#3 2 years ago

chuckwurt covered it. I'd say also have a bunch of spare bulbs on hand. There's bound to be some GI / lamps burned out in the machine, may as well check and replace any of those while you already have the plastics and ramps off.