(Topic ID: 199766)

Replacing Eyelets on PCB's

By hocuslocus

6 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 6 years ago

ok, I've replaced quite a few caps by now. I'm no expert, but am always striving to try to learn something new.

I was trying to get a TOM, location ready and decided to go ahead an replace all the E caps. After I finished with the power driver I noticed I wasn't getting 5volts. After a little while, I traced it down to the top and bottom of C5 positive not making a connection. I've never seen this happen before. was as careful as I always am with this stuff.

anyone have any tips on replacing the eyelet or would you even recommend going that far. I'm pretty sure that C5 isn't the only one that got ripped out, since there are only 10 eyelets, I figured I'd replace them all but I've never done it before. Mainly wanted to see if anyone else has been down this route. I'm actually kind of happy this happened, been wanting to learn this part of pcb repair.

#2 6 years ago

A lot of people run some bare wire through the hole and solder it both sides. So you have through board continuity.

LTG : )

#3 6 years ago

I highly recommend reading through Terry B's Guide to soldering: https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/terrybs-soldering-guide-part-1

Great walk through everything you need to know about soldering and has some great pages on "advanced" topics such as through hole repairs: https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/terrybs-soldering-guide-part-1/page/4#post-2774270

Super exclusive ad from the Pinside Marketplace!
#4 6 years ago

There are eyelet kits that you can get, but you will need to practice. There are several sizes, and tools range from the simple (anvil used with a hammer) to automatic presses with solder balls.