Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_0403 (resized).jpeg
IMG_0434 (resized).jpeg
IMG_0409 (resized).jpeg
IMG_0428 (resized).jpeg
#1 10 months ago

Forgive me in advance, I’m a newbie to this. I recently picked up a #Gottlieb #Wipeout pinball - I’ve wanted one forever. It was very dirty so I’m attempting to clean up the playfield. While removing the starpost studs, one of them snapped off and is now stuck in the playfield/t-nut.

I’ve been researching for a while, and can’t seem to find a replacement for this exact post stud. Can anyone help me out? I’ve ordered a manual (not sure if it will include all part numbers for posts, etc.) and I’ve been googling forever, but can’t seem to find the correct size in stock anywhere. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I’ve heard this is common in Gottlieb games as they used loctite and can easily snap. I’ve heard the best way to remove this is heating the t-nut with a soldering iron? Unfortunately, I can’t grab the post on the playfield side with pliers. I guess this is the second part of my question… What’s the best way to remove the stuck post without causing damage?

IMG_0409 (resized).jpegIMG_0409 (resized).jpegIMG_0428 (resized).jpegIMG_0428 (resized).jpegIMG_0434 (resized).jpegIMG_0434 (resized).jpeg
#2 10 months ago

Call Steve Young and tell him you didn't properly heat them up for safe removal

#3 10 months ago

Most/all posts on system 3 games have loctite. Heat up the t-nut under the playfield and post sticking out of the t-nut, and slowly unscrew the post. Crank the soldering iron up as high as it will go.

If any snap off, you'll just have to pound the t-nut out of the playfield and replace the t-nut and the post.

The gottlieb parts catalog should have pages with posts and sizes listed.

Some posts listed here:
https://www.pbresource.com/postscrew.html

It looks like the post you have is part # 20196. It's available from PBR and other suppliers.

#4 10 months ago