• Topic is favorited by 12 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Connect_PI1X4_eng_s (resized).jpg
pasted_image (resized).png
pasted_image (resized).png

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider fileoffset.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#19 3 years ago

Hey gang,

I am very new to pinball and recently got a Sinbad machine. Being an idiot, I plugged the unkeyed power cable in upside down and completely melted my Small Transformer - what a design!

Someone had already replaced the main board with a Ni-Wumpf and after reading all the comments on this thread and the pinwiki, attempting to bypass the Small Transformer seemed like the best option (especially when they are so hard to find). So I ordered a Boston Pinball Company LED kit v8, which arrived yesterday.

Here is what I did today:

- Cut all the wires to the small transformer, terminated them all and then removed the small transformer
- Unplugged and removed the power board, which was toast. I also desoldered the A1-J1 connector from the board so I could reuse it
- Removed all the old displays and installed the new LED displays
- Installed the Brightness Control Board as instructed (except there is no power board to plug A2-J3 in to - come back to this)
- My machine didn't have a service port wired in for some reason, so I hard-wired a small powerboard in temporarily (I will swap this for a proper double power point later)
- Found an old 5V/2A switching DC power supply, plugged in to power board and checked the voltage and polarity. Then I soldered the +5 to pins 5-6 and ground to pins 3-4 pins of the A1-J1 connector, which sorts out the Ni-Wumpf
- While I was there, I also added two more leads from the +5 and ground, which had to be connected to pin 7 and pin 5 respectively on A2-J3, which sorts out the displays
- Plug in power pack supplied with the LED kit and connect it to the Brightness Control Board