leftslingshot (resized).png
received_2687452161551285 (resized).jpeg
6452212B-6F86-4781-B08B-FB335C1B3A75 (resized).jpeg
100_7062 (2) (resized).JPG
20211223_093052 (resized).jpg
20211027_194826 (resized).jpg
#1 2 years ago

Hey everyone,

I tried my hand at air brushing certain sections of my Williams Cyclone playfield using frisket film after reading Vid's guide, etc. (see before and after pictures below). To my surprise, I think I did a decent job for a first timer as I am not an artist at all...I can barely draw a stick figure if you know what I mean. No matter how careful I was cutting the frisket film near the black lines with a ruler prior to air brushing, after removing the frisket film some of the black lines need some work. They don't look bad from afar, but close up I don't like how they look. Some of them have a little bit of overspray, etc.

I tried working on some of those black lines this morning with a medium point acrylic black paint pen. I tried using a ruler to keep my lines straight but the tip was too wide and thus made a mess. I am going to order some fine point acrylic paint pens figuring that might be a little better, but without the steady hands of a skilled artist I fear I will only get it to look so so, especially on the black circles. I've thought of putting frisket film down and cutting out the black lines, but that would be a job and yet still stand the risk of making more of a mess.

Does anyone have any tips, suggestions, method on how to redraw those black lines and circles so they look decent?

Thank you for your help.

20211027_194826 (resized).jpg20211027_194826 (resized).jpg20211223_093052 (resized).jpg20211223_093052 (resized).jpg

#2 2 years ago

Some close up photos would be helpful. How smooth is that playfield? Texture might be the issue. Unless the surface is truly smooth and flat, frisket (or tape, or….) is going to bleed.

#3 2 years ago

I used these artist pens with great results.