You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

pasted_image (resized).png
Sing Along R relay (resized).jpg

#1 4 months ago

Hello,

I’m a newbie but have recently acquired a dead Sing Along. I’ve spent the past month familiarizing myself with the machine, cleaning, re-wiring the power and all the pre-power up stuff. Last week I powered it up For the first time and the motor began spinning and I got G.I. which made me me very happy. However the reset sequence does not complete and the motor continues to run. I’ve traced it down to two problems where my question really lies. The huge coil that pulls in a reset bar to reset the control relays is not firing. I’ve reset the relays manually with the game off and the bar does move freely. The R relay which is the hold 115v relay is also not latching. The resistances of the reset coil was a little under but around 30 ohm instead of 31. The R relay read .6 vs Expected ~30ohms and looks black so I figured it was for sure bad. So I’m in the process of replacing both in hopes that gets me further down the road to having reset working. Now when my new r relay came in I tested it on the bench and it shows 33 ohms but after soldering it in its now showing .4 ohms. I put the old r relay on the bench and it’s showing 32 ohms Where it was .6 installed which led me to suspect it was bad in the first place. I’ve noticed one or two other coils that are doing similar. On the machine A given relay may show a much lower ohms reading than on the bench. Is this expected or is it an indication of a different problem that I should be looking for? Most of the resistances of coils/relays test on the machine very close to expected value but a handful do not. Appreciate any thought or tips here. Thanks in advance,

Marc

#2 4 months ago

Ive had good luck testing relay coils with a 9v battery pushed against the coil lugs. Most times this enough power to activate the relay.

#3 4 months ago