(Topic ID: 211410)

Quick and dirty DIY 24 pin EEPROM programmer

By ThatOneDude

6 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20180304_113753 (resized).jpg
    20180304_113704 (resized).jpg
    20180304_113647 (resized).jpg
    20180303_171348 (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider ThatOneDude.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 6 years ago

I built a 24 pin EEPROM programmer while working on my Gorgar.
    https://github.com/mikelatiolais/28c16_EPROM_PROGRAMMER

I made the interface out of what I had on hand: a 40 pin ZIF socket, an Arduino mega and a strip board.
    I hacked up an existing 28 pin design as the basis. The Arduino sketch is there, along with a primitive python script(I'm not a professional python coder, so keep that in mind) to read/write. No, it doesn't catch exceptions, do error checking, etc. I'm adding it as I tinker, though any other python scripters can feel free to clean it up and send me a pull request.

I'll post some pictures shortly of my version of the interface.

#2 6 years ago

20180303_171348 (resized).jpg20180303_171348 (resized).jpg

20180304_113647 (resized).jpg20180304_113647 (resized).jpg

20180304_113704 (resized).jpg20180304_113704 (resized).jpg

20180304_113753 (resized).jpg20180304_113753 (resized).jpg

#4 6 years ago
    Quoted from Cheddar:

This is a great idea. The shield for eprom programming would be pretty cheap.

If I get ambitious, I'll make a kicad version that could be etched. If I were going to make a "production" version, I would probably make it a separate board that would be more flexible.

#5 6 years ago

Fixed a bug in the EEPROM read(it now properly increments the read by 16 bytes).