(Topic ID: 71957)

Question about replacing a transistor...

By Darkslide632

5 years ago

Topic Stats

• 14 posts
  • 8 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by thedefog
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

One image has been uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

transistor.jpg

#1 5 years ago

So, I'm finally getting around to fixing my Lights... Camera... Action, and I pulled the driver board today so I could replace a transistor. When I flipped it over, it looked to me like the trace from the transistor was shot, and that I'd probably need to run a small jumper to the resistor. I figured I'd post a picture and ask what others thought before I did that, however, as I've never done any repairs like this before.

Thanks, Pinside!

transistor.jpg
#2 5 years ago

Check the continuity to determine if that's needed.

#3 5 years ago

Check it with a meter, if trace is broken then run a jumper over it.

LTG : )

#4 5 years ago

Alright, so, can someone talk the newb through the process? I've known that I was going to need to pick a meter up at some point, as it's obviously something you will eventually need owning pinball machines, but as of yet I haven't needed one. These seems like as good an excuse to go pick one up as any, and time to start learning about how to do more than replace a coil, I guess.

#5 5 years ago
Quoted from Darkslide632:

Alright, so, can someone talk the newb through the process?

If you mean the check it with a meter process: Put the meter in diode/continuity mode. Touch the probes together and you will get a beep or a zero reading on the meter. Now put the probes on each side of the trace and see if the same thing happens. See the following article.

http://pinballrehab.com/1-articles/solid-state-repair/tutorials/122-electronics-tutorial-test-equipment

#6 5 years ago

Any inexpensive digital meter will do fine for checking voltages and continuity. $10 on eBay.