10 years ago

Topic Stats

• 10 posts
  • 8 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 10 years ago by lladnip
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 10 years ago

I watched two unfortunate scenarios unfold last night, each with one experienced player, and one total newbie.

Scenario #1: Two guys step up to TSPP for the first game of the night. Guy #1 explains "hit the flashing shots", and then proceeds to get an extra ball, couch multiball, and a Replay - all the while repeatedly throwing his hands up and sighing in exasperation every time he didn't hit the couch shot on the upper playing field - as though he is embarrassing himself with poor play. By the time his first ball is over, I have played 3+ *entire* games of MM. Guy #2 steps up to the machine knowing his ball will last 15 seconds.

Scenario #2: Different guy and his girlfriend step up to MM. He plays a really long ball, explaining what he's doing as he goes. After draining, he spends a full minute or two explaining to her how to play the game. Started with "hit flashing shots", and then on to: hit the catapult 3 times, hit peasant shot 4 times, hit castle, etc, etc, etc, stacking modes, etc. Clearly *way* over her head. She steps up to the game, and starts trying to put money in - not even aware that he already paid and started a two player game. In fact, she's not even totally sure where the flippers are and I hear him say "no, that button is to start a game".

It made me think a lot about how I treat inexperienced players. I'm sure I've made mistakes, but it was so clear to me last night how fragile that first interaction can be. Watching the experiences of the two newbies - I doubt either of them is eager to play again.

So my takeaways from last night were:
    1) Make sure newbies feel included (and not just spending all night waiting for their turn)