Topic Stats

• 7 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 years ago by o-din
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 11 years ago

I am new to this hobby and have just picked up old Bally fireball 2 that has a perfect Playfield with no wear through at all. I will keep this pin for a long time and want to keep Playfield in pristine condition . My questions is should I put those Mylar protectors in front of the bumpers ,slings and flippers. I have seen these on lots of pins and just wanted to get some of you pinheads opinion .

#2 11 years ago

Personally I hate mylar and would never add it to my games. I remove it whenever possible. Keep clean and waxed and replace your balls before they get scuffed up and it should last a long time. Even mylar can get bad eventually, then you have the pain of getting screwed up mylar off - which can pull up paint sometimes.

#3 11 years ago

Ditto.

#4 11 years ago

No!

Instead, you should make sure that you do these things to keep it "pristine":

wax the playfield
change the balls in it
replace the batteries in it
EVERY YEAR!

If you put mylar around pops or slings, I actually say the machine may not really be worth less however, you would find less people willing to buy it. I personally would be much LESS likely to buy it if it was offered to me with mylar installed.

#5 11 years ago

If I play a game, say 30-40 times week, like I do Xmen and TZ, I change the balls every 2-3 months and clean it in the same period, probably even more cleanings for me. Novus 2 and a little carnuba paste wax. I novus 2'd the balls also, not sure if it helps but I feel better. Have fun!

#6 11 years ago

I too hate mylar, removing it from all my pins. I also wax the balls frequently, as has been mentioned. I receive almost as much enjoyment in cleaning/waxing my pins as I do playing them.

#7 11 years ago
Quoted from Fishmugger:

My questions is should I put those Mylar protectors in front of the bumpers