By Dbaum88

10 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

• Taxi Williams, 1988
#1 10 years ago

So, I know the story of the Marilyn Monroe version of Taxi...how it was replaced and that the Marilyn Taxi may be more scarce.

Does anyone know if there is extra value for owning a Marilyn Taxi, as opposed to a Lola Taxi? Are they more scarce and therefore worth more?

Thanks all.....

#2 10 years ago
Quoted from Dbaum88:

So, I know the story of the Marilyn Monroe version of Taxi...how it was replaced and that the Marilyn Taxi may be more scarce.

I thought I read in a different thread that, despite popular belief, the Lola's are actually more rare.

#3 10 years ago

That's what I thought! I was seeking confirmation because I thought so too.

The seller was telling me the story like I was a noob and I told him it was the reverse but an "expert" told him that so he did not believe me.

Is there any price difference between the two?

#4 10 years ago

From Pinball Database:

"According to Mark Ritchie, as explained in the book The Pinball Compendium 1982 to Present, at least 200 sample games were in the process of being shipped with 'Marilyn' before the change had to be made. He also explained the name 'Lola' was taken from a 1970s song about a transvestite, chosen to befit her muscular arms as depicted on the backglass."

At least 200 could be 2500...

For the record mine is a Marylin so I like it better.

#5 10 years ago

There is a cool website that tracks machines by serial #, although they are logged by owners so only a sampling of machines made. If you click on the Game traits tab, you can see that many users show whether their Taxi it is a Marilyn or Lola version. It looks close to half and half from what I see. Here is the site:

http://www.ipsnd.net/View.aspx?id=2505

#6 10 years ago

Even if Lola is indeed rarer, it's likely that Marilyn is still more desirable. She is, after all, one of the most iconic celebrities in American history.