Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 15 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by phishrace
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

50550601-37C3-4DFE-9BA0-96CBCCB02BB9 (resized).jpeg
    #1 1 year ago

My question stems from a Theatre of Magic

Game is great yet it powers on with a screech. Really loud one and sometimes a quieter one when it turns off.

I would describe it like a power surge but not from the power in the house, more like as the power comes into the game it is coming too fast or too strong. I’m no electrical engineer so not sure those terms even apply.

Reading online, the power box has a thermistor they call it in series with the black power wire. The purpose is apparently to limit this power surge at start-up.

Given my power on screech noise, I wondered if perhaps this component has failed? Or can they even fail?

I have my power box opened up and I can see clearly all the connections for the power switch, fuse, thermistor and a couple additional multi wire connectors. Nothing looks frayed or crispy.

Is there a way to test this thermistor or otherwise confirm everything is good in there?

50550601-37C3-4DFE-9BA0-96CBCCB02BB9 (resized).jpeg50550601-37C3-4DFE-9BA0-96CBCCB02BB9 (resized).jpeg
    #2 1 year ago

You'd know if it failed. It would be burned up.

LTG : )

#3 1 year ago
    Quoted from LTG:

You'd know if it failed. It would be burned up.

And I take it they either work or they don’t? But nothing in between like they “sorta” work?

#4 1 year ago
    Quoted from AlexRogan84:

And I take it they either work or they don’t?

Anything else would be rare.

You could lift one leg and try the game briefly. I would leave it or a new one off for long.

#5 1 year ago

Yeah, they generally explode when they fail ha. You'd notice for sure...ask me how I know...

#6 1 year ago
    Quoted from grantopia: