(Topic ID: 12403)

Powder Coating Pinball Legs and Rails

By jeffsgames

12 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

image.jpg
    image.jpg
    100_3707.JPG
    100_3689.JPG
    100_3684.JPG
    2012-04-03_10-04-50_611.jpg
    WhiteWater_Teardown_072.jpg
    2012-03-27_15-52-42_546.jpg
    There are 53 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
    #1 12 years ago

I've seen a few examples of how people have had parts on their machines powder coated as a mod. I'm new to pinball collecting but collected arcade video games for over 16 years. What I was wondering is how generally accepted is this type of mod in the pinball community? I think when these are well done they look fantastic. I even like how Stern has started doing this on their new machines as LE's.

I have a WCS94 that has chrome legs and rails. The flyer shows gold legs to match the trophy. I thought a closely matched purple powder coating on the legs and other metal (except coin door) would look really cool and help it pop. Maybe even take a little attention from the teal which I don't care much for. I have a friend who powder coats and could do a great job for me. He did the legs of my Asteroids cocktail and they came out great!

Thoughts or Opinions? Anyone have any cool examples to show off?

#2 12 years ago

it's generally well accepted if it is well done. Standard chrome legs and rails are a relatively inexpensive replacement if you want to go back.

#4 12 years ago

Those look fantastic! The guy that I will have do this will be just as high quality as they are. He is a runs our paint shop at work. So I see the silver around the plunger is not coated on CV. Is that typical of other machines too? I was trying to decide on that part. Definitely not doing the coin door.

Also since we're talking about it. The gold wire ramp on the playfield has some wear. Should I powder coat it or have it plated?