1 year ago

Topic Stats

• 11 posts
  • 10 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by smokedog
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 1 year ago

Let me lead with this: I need to be a better player. This topic is a total non issue if I’m a better player. Fine. I get that. So, here goes...

I travel for a living, and currently find myself in a fairly large midwestern city with a thriving craft beer culture. This is good. What makes it even better is that many of the local brewpubs have 8-10 pins. And still better, the pins are in excellent condition, most of the time. So here’s the rub: $1 per game, the outlanes are wide open, and the tilt mech is set extremely sensitively. I played a GOT the other day that gave me a tilt warning every time I hit a flipper combo. I get it, somebody spent 8 grand on that machine, and doesn’t want it abused. But a gaping outlane and zero opportunity to nudge doesn’t seem fair to me.

I hope the op makes a small fortune, or at least enough to keep him doing this. But I think he’s better off with a little bit more liberal approach to game settings.

Thoughts?

#2 1 year ago

I agree.

Perhaps they run a lot of tournaments there and the settings dont get changed back. Sounds like the GOT tilt adjustment was a mistake or oversight though. We usually leave our outline gaps factory at The Pinball Lounge.

#3 1 year ago

On one hand, vote with your wallet.

On the other hand, it's very possible that you're more rough with the machines than you think you are. It's pretty common to hear "it tilted when I flipped" when the player doesn't realize that every flip is accompanied by a small or medium nudge. And those nudges aggregate and keep the tilt bob swinging, especially on newer games.

#4 1 year ago
    Quoted from bobnatlanta: