2 years ago

Topic Stats

• 6 posts
  • 3 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 2 years ago by Chosen_S
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 2 years ago

Hi all, I need a little nudge in the right direction please...

I’m wanting to print an overlay. I need some help knowing what material to use, I know it Has to be gloss clear and has to have an adhesive backing...

I’m going to automotive clear coat over the overlay.

What do I use?

#2 2 years ago
    Quoted from Chosen_S:

I’m going to automotive clear coat over the overlay.

Huh? I don't think so. But I'm not an expert. Let the others guide you.

https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/vids-guide-to-ultimate-playfield-restoration

#3 2 years ago
    Quoted from Chosen_S:

I’m wanting to print an overlay.

Oh wait. I misunderstood. Scratch that. Reverse that. Just ignore me. Sorry.

#4 2 years ago
    Quoted from Catch86:

Oh wait. I misunderstood. Scratch that. Reverse that. Just ignore me. Sorry.

Hey, thanks for the bump

I have clear coated over an overlay before, I just don’t know what material the overlay was

1 month later
    #5 2 years ago

The automotive clearcoat is a ceramic clearcoat that is placed over automotive paint. There is a thread on this site where a guy showed a overlay restoration. But it's a bit tricky. However, what I would do is take the playfield to an autobody shop and ask for the ceramic clearcoat. Other than that, you can buy the material yourself which will be a hundred bucks. I'm also not sure what the clearcoat product will do to the colors of the overlay. One other option is to mill a playfield and take the overlay to a screening shop and get a playfield screened professionally and then take it to an autobody shop for clear coating.

#6 2 years ago
    Quoted from Dr_Blake: