• 25 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 years ago by j_m_
  • Topic is favorited by 12 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

0017119_300.jpg
There are 79 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
#1 11 years ago

I'm brand new to pinball and Pinside. I have a new Stern AC/DC BIB LE that I play atleast once a day. How often am I suppose to clean and wax the playfield ? I'm sure this has already been covered a hundred times, but if you could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it. Thanks again !!
- Kevin

#2 11 years ago

Get some microfiber or terry cloth rags.

Head over to pinballlife.com and buy a couple bottles of Novus 1 and Novus 2. If you see a buildup of dirt on your playfield use #2 to take it off.

For all purpose cleaning / prevention use Novus 1. It's like windex for your playfield. It doesn't contain damaging solvents though.

If you're good about wiping it down every so often you might not ever need #2... But don't be afraid to use it if you need to. Just don't use #3 on your playfield... It's too abrasive.

You shouldn't need to worry about shopping it out for awhile. Because of the value you might not want it to be your first. Maybe pick up a cheaper B title with a little dirt to work on and learn.

Congrats on picking up a great game!

#3 11 years ago

I agree with what Rascal said. I would just add that you should keep the playfield waxed. And even more important make sure your shooter rubber and balls are always good!!!!!!

#4 11 years ago
Quoted from hawkeye11:

I would just add that you should keep the playfield waxed.

The only 'wax' Stern recommends is Novus 2. There's no need at all to put any other kind of wax, car or otherwise, on a new playfield. It will only make the game harder. Wax is for games at least 10 years old.