Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 191 posts
  • 86 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 years ago by Goronic
  • Topic is favorited by 6 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

mr t.jpg
    tumblr_inline_mwkj6qxUc21s5qgl1.png
    Workbench Door.JPG
    pbdecal1.jpg
    Picnic time.JPG
    DSCF2214.JPG
    DSCF2017.JPG

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider johnwartjr.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#45 9 years ago

Let's not forget that Pinball Rescue had to do the *same thing* with Gottlieb LLC. It even says right on their site 'Licenced to reproduce Gottlieb® Products'

Just to interject an opinion from another side of the discussion

I've been paying royalties to PPS for a few years now on ROM sales.

Rick called me up on the phone, we discussed it, and I sent money.

The discussion was friendly, and I have no ill feelings towards that. PPS has a significant investment in these rights. I may not be using the correct legal terms, or words, but I think what I'm saying is coming across in a way that everyone can understand it.

Now, let's take another look at it

I love pinball. Odds are, everyone posting here loves pinball, too!

Since PPS acquired the rights to these products, there have been a lot more products come to fruition. Playfields, plastics sets, backglasses, translites, cabinet artwork, etc.

PPS didn't just get the rights, start saying F you, pay me! to everyone, and just sit on a throne and collect money.

PPS is making stuff that we haven't been able to get for years.

Some of it, PPS makes. Some of it, they farm out and take a cut.

If someone is selling products that are done through agreement with PPS, and they aren't up to par, Rick addresses that.

If someone is selling products that are not being made through an agreement, Rick tries to make an agreement for the benefit of everyone, rather than just squash that person.