Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

ry%3D400.jpg
IMAG0028.jpg
#1 9 years ago

i am about to get a pinbot with some wear around the maze area, and it has pretty bad flipper rubbing scraps. this solution would only solve one of the two issues regarding wear.

i noticed bay area sells these "Pinbot Decal Maze Overlay Laminated". My guess this is like mylar?

my question is how noticeable would it be if applied? compared to the rest of the playfield?, can it be removed afterwards without ripping up everything underneath it?

i have no experience with overlays. since it's a small piece, should be easy to apply... should...

thanks

IMAG0028.jpgIMAG0028.jpg
#2 9 years ago

That's not a maze, it's Pin*Bot's chest plate.

An overlay will probably look OK, but it will have raised edges that might affect ball movement. Also, a lot of chest plate wear is caused by sunken inserts that allow the ball to crash into the wooden edges of the insert holes. So if that is present, they should be fixed first.

#3 9 years ago

I did one for my pinbot and it came out amazingly.

I cleared the area with some spray clear, added the decal, then cleared a few times over it, feathering out the edges. Search around on here for my old thread. Turned out WAY better than expected and was easy.

Note: my light grid was way worse than yours. You could probably just touch that up, then clear a bit over it.

#5 9 years ago

Well, to tell you the truth, I used a maze overlay but had some problems with it. If I had to do it again, either I needed a different overly - or I would hand paint it.

The typical method is to sand this area level and clear it before installing the decal. The problem with mine was this: The decal has holes where the grid insert lamps are, instead of a continuous clear sheet. After installation you need to fill these holes with clear and level it.