Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20160206_212247_(resized).jpg
1454293144314-1420153308_(resized).jpg
pinbot_new_(resized).jpg
pinbot_old_(resized).jpg
#1 8 years ago

I recently purchased a Pinbot with a missing display and the center segment "g" not working on the numeric displays. I decided to purchase an Xpin replacement led setup, incorrectly assuming this would cure both of my issues. The segment issue continued.

So far, I have:
Swapped around the ribbon cables to make sure it wasn't one of them.
Checked for voltage and continuity at IJ1 and IJ2 between the main and display boards. Re-seated all connections.

Not sure where to go from here. (I am rather new to this) If it is the cpu I will send it out for repair just want to make sure I am not missing something simple.

Anyone have suggestions?

pinbot_old_(resized).jpgpinbot_old_(resized).jpg

pinbot_new_(resized).jpgpinbot_new_(resized).jpg

#2 8 years ago
Quoted from easilybaffled:

Anyone have suggestions?

It might be the Mpu board or the Master display board. Did you want help toubleshooting this?

#3 8 years ago

Yes. I would appreciate any help you could offer. I didn't suspect the master display board because it was replaced with the xpin and it was the same segment out in both situations.

Thanks in advance.

Matt

#4 8 years ago

First off, brilliant idea with the color choice in the displays! I think it's the best use of color LED displays in an older pin I've seen.

Judging by your before and after pictures, I wouldn't suspect the CPU board since you would have had the same symptoms before you installed the LED displays. The first thing I'd look at is the display driver board; while it may be new, I'm suspecting it's faulty.

#5 8 years ago

Do you have a logic probe?

#6 8 years ago

No. I do not have a logic probe. I could borrow or acquire one but that will take a day or two.