3 years ago

Topic Stats

• 6 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by sheahan2
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 3 years ago

So I have a few playfields that are disgustingly dirty. Just got finished with depopulating one of them and after working on it my hands need a break. I was curious if anybody had any recommendations on hand protection? What other types of PPE would everyone recommend?

#2 3 years ago

Years ago when I shopped games for a living I tried wearing gloves. It slowed me down significantly and I’d drop screws and stuff a lot more often. Plus a lot of sharp edges to catch on and rip a hole.

#3 3 years ago

Unless it's a total toxic waste platter - in which case you should probably burn it with fire anyway - just throw on a mask. I'm sure you have plenty around these days.

I'm finding masks aren't always annoying. I may never go into a public restroom again without a mask, seems to work pretty well for me.

#4 3 years ago

I use working hands lotion on my hands before I start working. Not only does it help with the wear and tear it keeps some of the dirt out of the grooves and makes them cleaner after I wash them

#5 3 years ago

No need to wear gloves. Toughen those hands up.

#6 3 years ago

So these playfields have water damage on the back and in the holes, however the art is absolutely perfect on them. I use working hands lotion too, and love the stuff, wife got it for me! Highly recommended!

Thanks for the feedback guys! Dexterity is a must so I am going to continue working without gloves. Mask, tried it and it does help, definitely a must when working with chemicals. Mine has two filter types, gas and particulate. With the gas one, it works so well that I cant smell anything.

Wanna join the discussion? Please sign in to reply to this topic.

Hey there! Welcome to Pinside!

Donate to Pinside