Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 20 posts
  • 17 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by whthrs166
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 3 years ago

Total newbie question; I apologize. Maybe once or twice per game, the pinball on my ~1980 Bally machine will strike the glass with the ball. Not a huge deal, but I am wondering what is the most likely cause: flipper alignment/rubber, playfield smoothness, or is it just something that happens occasionally due to spin on the ball when I hit it with the flipper? It doesn't seem to happen on the same spot on the playfield, but it is always on a firm/fast shot. I replaced all of the rubber components fairly recently and everything at least seems to be adjusted properly.

#2 3 years ago

Sometimes it just happens. See if you notice a consistent specific ‘hit’ when it occurs, and then look into it. Just my 2 flippers worth. : ) Enjoy the game!

#3 3 years ago
    Quoted from Cash_Riprock:

Sometimes it just happens. See if you notice a consistent specific ‘hit’ when it occurs, and then look into it. Just my 2 flippers worth. : )Enjoy.

#4 3 years ago

Many things can give the ball upward momentum.
    Playfield wear such as cupped inserts, the ball rolls down into it then up to get out.
    A playfield item bent slightly, making a non-ideal angle with the playing surface.

#5 3 years ago
    Quoted from YeOldPinPlayer:

Many things can give the ball upward momentum.
    Playfield wear such as cupped inserts, the ball rolls down into it then up to get out.
    A playfield item bent slightly, making a non-ideal angle with the playing surface.

Or if you own The Simpsons...

#6 3 years ago

If you own a Comet, you get used to it.

#7 3 years ago

All of mine do this on occasion. Gets player’s attention, that’s for sure!