(Topic ID: 225236)

Phantom of the opera POTO issues, help needed.

By Ratiganpin

5 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 15 posts
  • 2 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by wdennie
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20180918_200820 (resized).jpg
#1 5 years ago

Hi, I already have these issues posted on the POTO club forum, but thought I should try a wider forum aswell.

I have bought a DATA EAST PHANTOM OF THE OPERA pinball machine and have been working on cleaning it up. My experience is fairly limited, and I am no expert when it comes to electrical issues, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

These are the issues I'm trying to solve :

1. DIGITAL DISPLAY NOT WORKING. It shows no sign of life at all. Is there any way i can test wether it is the display itself thats the problem, as I don't mind buying a new display if needed, but not unnecessarily.

2. ATTRACT MODE NOT STARTING. When I switch on the machine, all the GI lights come on, but the under playfield lights do not. It appears that if I then open the coin door, the slam tilt switch causes the table to then come to life ( a few sounds of solenoids briefly firing, and all the attract mode lights functioning).

If I then press the game start button, all I get is a sound of the phantom laughing, but it sounds too fast and high pitched. No game start though.

Once I have triggered the slam tilt switch and the playfield lights are all functioning, I find that if I keep the coin door open, turn the machine off and back on, the attract mode lights function from switch on. However, if i shut the coin door, switch off then on again, its back to the original problem.

I have also found that if i close the coin door and lift the playfield so I can reach in and trigger the slam tilt switch, the slam tilt won't trigger at all.

Can anyone help?
Many thanks.

#2 5 years ago