Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 37 posts
  • 20 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by digdug2084
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

tenor.gif
    Screen Shot 2020-08-02 at 2.59.51 PM (resized).png

#1 3 years ago

Note: I'm completely new to pinball, so my opinions could be wildly incorrect. Please feel free to tell me I am an idiot.

As someone who has played pinball casually in arcades and has been looking to get my own pin, the way they are marketed and sold have turned me off a bit. At already almost $6,000 for the entry model for a new Stern, you would think you'd be getting a complete pin. Except if you don't shell out an additional $1,700, you miss out on some features. For example, if you want your damn T-Rex to eat a ball, you better pay for the Jurassic Park (Premium).

I understand that a lot of sales likely go to arcades, bars, and private businesses, but for the average person this seems pretty anti-consumer. I don't plan on buying a NIB any time soon, with this being part of the reason why.

#2 3 years ago
    Quoted from Chet_Hardbody:

for the average person this seems pretty anti-consumer. I don't plan on buying a NIB any time soon, with this being part of the reason why.

Obviously you have never bought a car or a hot tub or a TV or an AV receiver or gone to a restaurant to eat. All these examples I have given you have options and you can choose how much you want to spend. Maybe you are equating a pinball machine to a CD you would pick up to listen to an album but heck there are even special edition of CDs that you might pay extra for that might have a few extra tracks or maybe has a fancy wrapper.

You said it's anti consumer but to me it's not. If they only made one version which costs $7500 that would be more anti consumer.