Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 17 posts
  • 13 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by ForceFlow
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 1 year ago

Bunch of BH floating around

#3 1 year ago

I'm an IP attorney and deal daily with federal copyrights, patents, and similar issues. I'm not licensed in New York and do not practice there, so take this with a grain of salt.

The statute does not appear to be retroactive. It takes effect one year after it's passing. The governor's memo that accompanied its announcement says it only applies to devices manufactured after July 1, 2023. So, more of the status quo for pins.

https://appleinsider.com/articles/22/12/29/new-york-passes-functionally-toothless-right-to-repair-bill

#4 1 year ago

There are a lot of loopholes and exceptions in that law, unfortunately.

Where PBR is concerned, I think you may have missed the phrase:

"With respect to documentation, that such documentation is made available by the original equipment manufacturer"

PBR is not the OEM.

You would need to contact Gottlieb...which no longer exists as a company/manufacturer.

#5 1 year ago
    Quoted from vidguy:

I'm an IP attorney and deal daily with federal copyrights, patents, and similar issues. I'm not licensed in New York and do not practice there, so take this with a grain of salt.
    The statute does not appear to be retroactive. It takes effect one year after it's passing. The governor's memo that accompanied its announcement says it only applies to devices manufactured after July 1, 2023. So, more of the status quo for pins.
    https://appleinsider.com/articles/22/12/29/new-york-passes-functionally-toothless-right-to-repair-bill

Maybe the argument could be made for schematics for Stern node boards, but technically, those have been made, used, and sold prior to the effective date of the law.

#6 1 year ago